HomeCalendarFAQSearchRegisterLog in
Who is online?
In total there are 2 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 2 Guests

None

Most users ever online was 29 on Sun Jul 07, 2013 9:56 pm
Latest topics
» hi hi hi hi hi
by Jalice Wed Jan 13, 2016 1:19 pm

» Death's Dorm
by !Death! Sat Nov 23, 2013 12:44 pm

» Creepy Deck Shop OF AWESUMENESS LOLS
by !Death! Fri Nov 22, 2013 12:46 pm

» Dorm Leader
by !Death! Fri Nov 22, 2013 11:20 am

» !Death!'s test results
by Omega Fri Nov 22, 2013 10:57 am

» Madness's test results
by Omega Fri Nov 22, 2013 10:04 am

» New member.
by !Death! Fri Nov 22, 2013 9:20 am


Share | .
 

 What is "Priority"?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
D.D. Eatos
Moderators
avatar

<b>DevPro Username</b> DevPro Username : Asiansushiroll
<b>DN Username</b> DN Username : ! ! ! ! Fabled Asian
<b>Duel Points</b> Duel Points : 0
<b>Posts</b> Posts : 81
<b>Age</b> Age : 23
<b>Location</b> Location : Here
<b>Join date</b> Join date : 2013-03-14
No Warnings


PostSubject: What is "Priority"?   Tue Jul 09, 2013 12:34 am

What is priority?

Priority is a "right" each player has during a duel. What are these right? Well they mostly depend on who's turn it is. Although this has been old news, Priority lately has been used for monsters with Ignition Effects.

I want to talk to you about what that priority is.

Priority - Ignition Effect (NO LONGER EFFECTIVE IN THE CURRENT GAME!!!)

During the Player's turn, when he/she summons a monster with an Ignition Effect successfully, he/she can use it's effect (if possible) before the opposing Player, who is waiting, can respond.

For instance;

Player A has Lyla, Lightsworn Sorcerer in his/her hand.
Player B has Bottomless Trap Hole facedown on the field.

If Player A summons Lyla, Lightsworn Sorcerer and it is successful, he/she can "call" priority and use Lyla, Lightsworn Sorcerer's effect and target Player B's facedown card. Now, Player B has a choice whether or no he/she wants to respond to the summon of Lyla, Lightsworn Sorcerer.

Nowadays, If Player A summons Lyla, Lightsworn Sorcerer, he/she must ask Player B if he/she has a response to the summon. Player B can respond with Bottomless Trap Hole and destroy Lyla, Lightsworn Sorcerer and banish it and Player A cannot use Lyla, Lightsworn Sorcerer's effect.

Now for what priority rights really are.

Priority - Player's Turn - Player Priority

During your turn you can

-Main Phase 1/2-
*Attempt 1 Normal Summon/Set if you have not during the turn.
*Special Summon as many monsters that you are capable
*Set or Activate any Spells/Traps that have the correct activation timing.
*Activate any Effects that can be activated

-Battle Phase-

*Declare any and all attacks with your monster(s), if possible
*Activate and chain effects that are applicable at this time

Priority - "Waiting" Turn -

Not much can happen during except responses when the player decides to pass priority. The player waiting cannot activate cards without the player passing priority.

Priority - Chains

If 2 or more effects are activated simultaneously, the effects of the current Turn player get's its effects first, then they opponent's effects.

Passing Priority

Passing priority is a term used to allow the Player waiting to respond to an action done by the Player's turn. A player also passes priority when he/she ends a phase.

Lemme try to rephrase this one point at a time.

Waiting Turn - Phase Priority

*The player waiting must wait for his/her opponent to end a phase before declaring a response.

Ex.

Player A has a Legendary Six Samurai - Shi En.
Player B has Formula Synchron and Wind Up Shark

It is Player A's Main Phase.
Suppose Player A chooses not to make a move during Main Phase 1 and moves on to Battle Phase.

Player A must declare "entering Battle Phase" or "ending Main Phase 1" to simulate that he/she ends priority for Player B to use Formula Synchron's Effect. Player B cannot use Formula Synchron's effect without responding to Player A's actions. If Player B chooses to respond to Player A ending a phase, Player A can return to the phase he/she was ending and continue it if he/she wants.

Priority - Response

The player waiting gets the priority to respond to an action that the Turn Player made, before the Turn player can respond to it.

Ex.

Player A has 2 Jurrac Guaiba and 1 Jurrac Gallim on the Field, Jurrac Meteor in the Extra Deck, and Different Dimension Transporter set (supposing 1 turn has passed)
Player B has Starlight Road and 2 other cards on the field.

If Player A uses the 2 Jurrac Guaiba and 1 Jurrac Gallim for the Synchro Summon of Jurrac Meteor, Jurrace Meteor will activate it's effect, Player A cannot activate Different Dimension Transporter targetting Jurrac Meteor without asking Player B for a response to the effect.

If the situation is like this

Player A has Wind-Up Rat and Wind-Up Shark in Hand
Player B has Effect Veiler in his/her Hand.

If Player A Normal Summons Wind-Up Rat, both Wind-Up Shark and Effect Veiler activation timing are the same, since it is simultaneous and it is Player A's turn, he/she is able to activate Wind-Up Shark's effect as Chain Link 1 as Effect Veiler is Chain Link 2.

__________________________________

HDA Staff Manager

Junior Graphics Maker and Rulings Advocate
Back to top Go down
http://digitalmasters.4umotion.com
 

What is "Priority"?

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

 Similar topics

-
» Priority (Old Article/Guide)
» Priority on summon response changes for the TCG
» (TCG) No Ignition Priority
» Uria,lord of searing flames priority.
» Does Special summon monsters gt priority???

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
 :: Courtyard :: Lessons :: Rulings-